Revelations from the Marketing Side

Me signing copyOkay, self, you’ve written the book, edited till your eyes bled, got it published – in hard back and paperback and Kindle editions. That’s it, then.

Then again, for my science fiction I’ve done step one and two above. Just haven’t had it published. Yet. But it will be. Of course it will.

But now I’ve been and done a little marketing course. And bloody hell, I have to sell ME. AND my books. Who’d a thunk? Advice is I need three websites – one for my hist fic, one for my science fiction and one for me. And I have to blog regularly, even if it’s a recipe. (I have an excellent recipe for bacon and cheese muffins – keep a look-out for that one.) And I have to Twitter. I’m there, folks. You’ll find me as @GretavdR.

So… off to work on the new sites. I’ll keep you posted, of course I will.

And if anybody can suggest any cross-marketing strategies, please do so. I’m open to suggestions.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 29 October 2010, in On writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The internet has created wonderful ways to market oneself, but also many ways to waste time while telling yourself it’s marketing. Is going on facebook the virtual equivalent of hanging out on your front stoop or is it “networking”? Am I selling books on Amazon’s community forums or just wasting hours? If you divided the time I spend and the financial rewards, there are kids making carpets in Bangladesh doing better than I am. You want a good blog topic? Blog explaining how to market oneself efficiently.

Leave a Reply

