The con that is modern art

No, I’m no art connoisseur. I’m one of those die-hard, stubborn know-nothings who goes along with the idea that ‘I know what I like’. Having said that, I’ve seen a fair few paintings and such, in books and in galleries. And I’m really sorry but all in all, I fail to understand why much of modern art has any kind of credibility.

I’ve seen Rembrandt’s masterpiece, the “night watch” and many of his lesser paintings at the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam. The picture at left is a Rembrandt that hangs in the Amsterdam Historical Museum. I’ve been to the Hermitage in St Petersburg and seen any number of master works by artists ranging from Fra Angelico through Picasso, Monet and like. When you study history, paintings can give a great insight into how people dressed, what the countryside looked like and even their belief systems. These days, photography and moving pictures provide us with much more than the artists could. I suppose that’s why artists have drifted off into the esoteric, trying to capture a feeling (or something) because the image itself has become such an easy thing to portray. And yet a fine portrait or a compelling landscape can still convey more than a photo. Albert Namatjira’s landscapes of central Australia capture a moment and with it, the artist’s emotion; what he felt for the land of his ancestors.

This is all just my opinion, of course, but I fail to see the skill in the image at right.

It’s a Picasso, worth a bob or two, I’d imagine.

What about this? It hangs in the world famous Hermitage and it seems the artist painted a few more inspiring images like circles and rectangles. Wow.

At least you can see this is people. I don’t know what else I’d say about it.

The disease isn’t limited to paintings. This inspiring work is in Washington, part of the sculpture garden. No, it’s not a building site.

Sorry, folks. I’m a Philistine. Give me a Dutch master or a Hans Heyssen or a Tom Roberts any day.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 18 November 2010, in Life and things. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great piece, Greta – really lovely. And a very happy birthday to you! Regrets? Yeah, as Sinatra said, too few to mention – especially when considered against the positives you set out here.

  2. What a beautiful post, Greta! And Happy Birthday!

  3. And cute photo!

  4. Wow, what a story. I suppose your parents did what they felt they had to do out of necessity, but they probably didn’t realize just how courageous and tenacious they really were.

  5. What a wonderful way to celebrate, Greta. I toast you and and your family’s accomplishments! *toast*

  6. Happy Birthday Greta! What a great story – I love the way you tell tales. I can’t wait to see your speculative fiction between covers too! Loved the Historical and I’m sure I will love the Spec. too!

  1. Pingback: It depends on your point of view | Greta van der Rol

  2. Pingback: Musings on the Man Booker « Greta van der Rol

Leave a Reply

