Back to the casting couch

Picture of RavindraMorgan’s Choice’ is done and dusted and in the hands of the publishers. Which means the casting couch is probably well and truly overdue. You might remember I did a similar exercise withThe Iron Admiral: Conspiracy. Hey ho; new book, new characters.

While there is a certain physical resemblance between Admiral Saahren in ‘Iron Admiral’ and Admiral Ravindra in ‘Morgan’s Choice’, tall and dark is about where it ends. Unlike Saahren, who is a farmer’s son made good, Ravindra is a military despot, born to rule… although maybe he’s not quite as straight out of the mould as he should be. He’s also even less ‘nice’ than Saahren and with a whole different outlook on women.

Picture of imran khanMy first thought was Imran Khan. No, not the Bollywood actor, the real life ‘Lion of Lahore’, Pakistani fast bowler (at one time fastest in the world) and long-time captain of the Pakistani cricket team back in the ‘70’s and ‘80’s. He has the voice, the attitude, the looks. But even if he wanted to play the part, he’s just too old now. Sorry, Imran.

Off to Bollywood. We’ll leave out Akshay Kumar, who got the gig as Saahren.

Now this man may fit the bill;picture of John Abraham John Abraham. Oh, yes. Mind you, Ravindra doesn’t flaunt the body. It’s there under the uniform, nonetheless. Yes, very suitable. Trouble is, I can’t use his image on a cover. Hence the gentleman at the top of the post, who appears on the book’s cover.

Fine. That’s done. Back to leading ladies. Somehow I’m much less inclined to go searching, know what I mean? Morgan Selwood is a living, breathing, difficult woman with a supercomputer embedded in her brain so she’s all woman – but really, really smart. Her eyes are artificial so she can link wirelessly with a computer and see a lot of things ordinary eyes can’t. As a result, her eyes have a silvery appearance, like mercury. This lady has attitude in spades. The absolutely ideal person would be Sigourney Weaver as she was in the first ‘Alien’. Tough, smart, resilient and in control of herself.

But there again, Sigourney’s a bit too old for the role. Can anybody suggest a suitable candidate?

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 24 April 2011, in Morgan's Choice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. thepencilneck

    Hmmm… Maybe Michelle Monaghan, Rachel McAdams, Leelee Sobieski?

  2. OK, I think I might have to do another CC for the lady. It seems Leelee is a blonde so she’s been shouted down by those who know. Joanne Kelly (Warehouse 13) looks like a good fit.

  3. thepencilneck

    Love Joanne Kelly. But since we’re in the Warehouse 13 area, have you thought of Jaime Murray? She’s got a kind of cold, smug confidence.

    Or how about Emmanuelle Vaugier?

    Just throwing out ideas. I love casting my novels or even my ideas for novels. 🙂

    • It’s a lot of fun isn’t it? Morgan has always seemed Latina to me, so not the white Caucasian cast. I’ll have to look at Jaime Murray. I’ve never heard of any of these women. Showing my age? 😉

      • thepencilneck

        I like to learn the names of actors and actresses I like or that I like the look of. For exactly this reason.

        If you don’t want the standard white caucasian, then take a look at Vaugier. I first saw her playing Jasmin in Secondhand Lions and then she got a recurring role in Smallville; I was really sad when they killed her off.

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the casting couch | Greta van der Rol – Author

  2. Pingback: A casting couch for Morgan | Greta van der Rol

  3. Pingback: Greta’s next big thing… « Greta van der Rol

  4. Pingback: Morgan’s Return – the Next Big Thing? « Greta van der Rol

  5. Pingback: Ashkar Ravindra – in the flesh (so to speak) « Greta van der Rol

Leave a Reply

