Do you judge a book by its cover?

I think everybody agrees that a book’s cover is one of the more important selling points. Sure, the blurb has to be interesting and the first few pages, too, but if that cover doesn’t grab a potential buyer then it’s all for nought.

Two of my SF novels have now been published – ‘The Iron Admiral: Conspiracy’ and ‘Morgan’s Choice’. Both books are action adventure space opera with a romance arc. ‘Morgan’s Choice’ became a best-seller in Omnilit’s science fiction genre. ‘Iron Admiral’ didn’t do much at all, despite getting good reviews on Amazon, Smashwords and Goodreads. I can only imagine the reason is the covers.

So for the second ‘Iron Admiral’ book (out around October) I’m thinking about a change of cover from this… Iron Admiral - Deception cover

to something more like this.

All these books are fast-paced action-adventure set in the future, rather like Star Wars but with (I hope) some more up to date and believable science. Romance is an important element to the story but by no means the only theme.

I’m looking for some help, here. What do you think? Which would you prefer?

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 31 July 2011, in Iron Admiral, Morgan's Choice, On writing, Science fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Assuming the one with the orange planet is the “old” version, I like that one better. Actually I like the new one better EXCEPT for the naked guy. I’m not into naked guys. I like the blue hues, the star filed and the cool space ship. I’m into Sci-fi. I can handle a romantic side theme, but if sex and hormones are the driving force in the book I’ll toss it aside quickly.

    Since I’m not a romance fan, take these comments with a grain of salt or two. I may not be the audience you’re targeting.

Leave a Reply

