Who is your audience?

Picture of Stack of booksJust about every book I’ve ever seen on marketing tells the reader to target his/her campaign. Who are you selling to? It’s no different for us authors. Who is your audience?

You could say ‘anybody that reads’ or even narrow it down to kids, teens, adults, women… But that’s still too broad for a campaign. You might have guessed that I’ve been considering who is in my target audience. John Locke in his book ‘How I Sold 1 Million eBooks in 5 Months!‘ suggests you write books to suit your target audience. That makes sense if selling books is your purpose in writing, but it isn’t mine and I expect it’s not for many of us. That said, I still want people to read what I’ve written.

So who?

I write science fiction with a dollop of romance (we’ll ignore my hist fic for this post).

Romance suggests women. I’ve proved the ‘women’ bit by displaying hunky male bodies on my covers and seeing at first hand the difference it makes. I discuss that here, where I talk about covers.

Science fiction suggests educated women, or at least, women interested in science or space opera. This is what one reviewer had to say about ‘The Iron Admiral: Conspiracy’.

‘If you’re a Star Wars/Star Trek/Battlestar Gallactica/science-fiction fan in general, this book is for you. If you’ve ever read a sci-fi book and thought, “Man, I really wish the Hero and the Heroine would get it on,” this book is for you. If you like really good stories with lots of danger, twists, action, and politics, this book is for you..’ more…

I don’t deny that the popular space opera shows are what I enjoy (despite the occasionally shoddy science) so that’s a fair cop. I love the spaceships, the different planets, the action and adventure you’ll find in Star Wars and its spin-offs.

I guess that’s me done, then. If you’re a Star Wars or Star Trek or Battlestar Galactica fan and you’d like a bit more sex on the plate – come and look at the Iron Admiral series, or ‘Morgan’s Choice’. They’re right up your alley. Here’s a link.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 9 October 2011, in Science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. If you ever read Andre Norton, and wanted to know more about her star men, read these books.

Leave a Reply

