A gay guy is a girl’s best friend

As you know, I’m touring the internet to introduce readers to my new novel, Starheart. So far, if you’ve been following my posts, you’ll have learnt a little bit about Jess Sondijk and Admiral Ullric Hudson, two of the main characters in the book. But, in the immortal words of Yoda, there is another.

Santh Dekstra, Jess’s best friend and first officer of her freighter Saintly Maid has his own major role in the story, which revolves around how Jess’s husband, Troy, died in a botched boarding a year and a half ago. Hudson stirs up questions Jess had thought laid to rest with Troy. Santh had been close to Troy, too, and together Jess and Santh decide to find out what might have happened to him. That proves to be a perilous undertaking.

As I said in an earlier post, Santh is one of those marvellous gay men who really can be a girl’s best friend. Pop over to Sodahead, where the site actually asked if readers would be friends with a gay guy. They have a lovely picture of a nice young man who is a bit young for Santh, but you’ll get the idea.

Here’s a little piece about Santh and Jess at a function organised by the Nordheim Government to introduce Admiral Hudson and his senior officers to the planet’s domestic captains. Jess has gone along to see what she can find out about Hudson’s plans.

Santh, drink in hand, strolled up to Jess, looking her up and down.

“Jess, baby, he doesn’t stand a chance.”

Jess laughed. “Well, thank you, spacer but I don’t know what you’re talking about. You look lovely yourself.”

The pale blue breeches molded to his slim and athletic form and he’d tied back his luxuriant dark-blond hair. He’d covered the white shirt with a sleeveless jerkin, giving him a dashing air.

She had made a special effort. The red dress was a favorite. The neckline plunged deep, affording everyone quite an eyeful. The rest clung to her waist and hips, accentuating her figure. The split up the front meant she was able to stride if she wanted and provided more than a glimpse of leg.

Santh flicked a finger at a waiter, who approached with a laden tray, his eyes following the plunge of her dress.

“Careful,” Santh said, straightening the tray from a dangerous angle. “She wants to drink the wine, not wear it.”

Jess selected a glass of pale yellow wine and watched the youth walk away. “Not your type?” she said to Santh.

“No. But I expect somebody will be.” He winked.

I like Santh. A lot. I’ve had gay friends like him. He’s in for a serious adventure, I must say. Find out more on Amazon.

I’ll be at http://pippajay.wordpress.com/ tomorrow for some more spicy bits and pieces.

Don’t forget – to celebrate the release of ‘Starheart’ I’ll be giving a $25 Amazon gift voucher to one person who leaves a comment on any of the blogs I visit until 10th March. So leave a comment here and you’ll be in the draw.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 29 February 2012, in Starheart and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Hiya Grets,

    Say, I have no idea how many of my blog readers read SciFi (my posts usually get around 80-100 hits), but if you’d like to see, my page is open to you. Say the word! (Feel free to cross post something you’re already doing elsewhere – whatever you want to do is fine with me.

    Best to Pete!

  2. Had to click through and read your topic after seeing it on Savvy. Great teaser, and I want to know more. Now, I have to go promo a guest I have today, who’s talking about being a “Bear” in a “twink” world — so not the pretty shaved gay best friend, but furry & cuddly!

  3. yep. My VERY Best friend after my husband is a gay man. He was a fraternity brother of said spouse, and every girls favorite date. Romantic, thoughtful, and cute. Still love him like crazy. We talk 2-3 times a week. He owns a biz down in Louisville and I own one here in Michigan so we don’t see each other as much as we would like tho

  4. I’ve shown purebred dogs for 40 years, and worked in show horses in my misspent youth. You bet I’ve had and have gay friends, both men and women. Some of the best make up advice ever came from a transvestite who also walked better in heels than I EVER could. I have a problem understanding where any intelligent person could worry about sexual choices between consenting adults but go back to the first statement. I’ve shown dogs for 40 years so I can’t really be sane.
    Looking forward to the next book. And hoping to read more about Morgan one day

    • Thanks, Mona. I have an idea of writing a sequel for Morgan’s Choice – a return to where she came from, to find out more about where the Manesai came from. Ravindra would accompany her. We shall see 🙂

  5. I’ve always had gay friends too, Greta. In my ballet days it was usually the norm to hang out with guys. Gay guys. Now I have a gay workout buddy and we go to the gym together. He’s just so great.

  6. I had a great guy friend in high school that was gay. I loved him to death and he saw me through so much, even tried to beat up a guy for me. it was so cute. He had bigger shoulders to cry on and was a better friend than any girl I knew.
    Great post.
    Lynda

  1. Pingback: Starheart is here « Greta van der Rol

Leave a Reply

