The end of a relationship

Picture of cover for 'The Iron Admiral: ConspiracyPfoxmoor, the small publisher responsible for bringing you all my books, is closing down. It’s a sad day for me. The person I worked with was (is) a good friend and I owe her a great deal. Life’s like that, isn’t it? It can’t be helped. For me, it means I have seven publications without a home. My only real option in a short time-frame is to self-publish. So that’s what I’m doing. The split has been entirely amicable and I’ve been offered every assistance. I feel like a duckling having to make that big jump out of the nest hole in the tree, out into the Big Blue.

Already, you’ll find all my titles have been removed from Smashwords. Rest assured, though, all my books will be out there with a minimum impact on the reading public – at least on Amazon. Print and other e-formats may take a little longer.

Meanwhile, I’ve taken the opportunity to re-do my covers. That’s the new look for the Iron Admiral. I hope you like it. And don’t forget, you can still get A Victory Celebration for FREE through 5 August.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 3 August 2012, in Life and things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. It is sad, isn’t it?! You, however, will do just fine, I have no doubts! Onward and upward

  2. You’re enterting a brave new world. Some other place to take over!

  3. I’m sorry to hear this news, for you, for Diane, for everyone involved.

  4. Sorry to hear this – it looked like a good home for your books. Best of luck for all of them!

  5. I’m thinking I’ll take the same path, Greta, but I just want to echo everything you said about Diane. She’s worked so hard on behalf of all of us. Let’s just hope it frees up her time so that she can just enjoy writing.

  6. This came as a great shock this morning. I hadn’t realized it was happening. I’m sorry to hear it. I always wondered how Diane accomplished so much in one 24 hour day–with all her bookish obligations and her horses and family. I was ever in awe! Good luck to you and all your companions, Greta.

  7. Diane is an inspiration and a one woman dynamo. I hope that she gets out of life exactly what she needs, wants and deserves – although a lottery win and a handsome horse wrangler would probably do!

    It’s a hard thing to do, setting up by yourself, but I’m certain that you can do it, Greta – I’m right behind you!

    I’m giving you the sunshine award because you never seem to give up and I love your work!

    http://welcometowherever.wordpress.com/2012/08/11/august-webzine/

  1. Pingback: August Webzine… «

Leave a Reply

