Please help me choose

I’ve been doing some cover tweaking. One of them is Starheart. Somebody said the current cover shown at left, with two lovers, looks a bit too much like a standard romance cover. And that’s not what Starheart is. As one reviewer said, it’s “A fun action/adventure, a murder mystery, a crime novel and a romance all in one.”

Here’s the blurb;

She’s lost her husband, her best friend is missing. What else has she got to lose?

Slightly shady freighter captain, Jess Sondijk, thought she had her life under control until Admiral Hudson’s Confederacy battle cruiser stops her ship to search for contraband. His questions reopen matters she had thought resolved. What if her husband’s death on his way back from Tabora wasn’t accidental? Jess decides to investigate, while keeping Hudson at arms’ length.

While he’s attracted to the lovely Jess, Hudson is also concerned about what might be happening on Tabora and how that may involve the Confederacy’s enemies.

Jess and Hudson’s interests collide in more ways than one. But while Jess is more than willing to put her life on the line to protect what’s hers, Hudson must balance the risk of inter-species war at worst and the end of his career at best, in a deadly game of political intrigue, murder and greed. At the end of the day, how much is he willing to lose for the woman he has come to love?

Like Morgan’s Choice, the romance is the icing on the cake, not the raison d’etre. So, what do you think?

The original or this one?

Starheart cover design Based on feedback so far, I’ve tried a different approach. What about this?

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 5 August 2012, in Starheart and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. When you did your other covers with a sexy guy in the front, ship in the background, I questioned the choice. But they did end up good covers and I think helped sales. IMO the ship alone doesn’t show the story, nor does the ship with this couple. The woman looks too submissive and Jess is anything but. And hmmm I think I need to re visit with Jess and Hudson.

  2. To me, the one with the ship alone looks unfinished. I understand what she’s saying about the generic romance cover, but the ship on it’s own means the cover just says scifi to me and nothing else about the story. Maybe just have one character on the front if you want to avoid having the couple?

  3. As I understand it, the story is based on conflict (not discovery, not romance) so the cover should show conflict — either between two people (and the two on the first pic don’t show anything of that kind, they look rather… dull, there’s no tension between them), or tension between two ships, or ships vs. planet, or… something. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I like the picture with only the ship, but to me it indicates space discovery, not political crisis. Hope I could be of some help, Greta. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Speaking as a guy, a sci-fi fan, and a lover of space-bound hardware, I find the second cover more appealing. But, I’m not your target audience. Were I a romance reader, the first cover would convey the romance angle more effectively.

  5. The original cover for Starheart has my vote.

  6. Hmm – I think you need to show Jess on it, but have the ship under fire or something like that – maybe jess one side, hudson on the other and the conflict between? That’s approx the story anyway…

  7. I agree with Mandy–either that, or the original cover, if the romance is a secondary plot and you’re going for an action-loving audience.

  8. The original, please. Or something better (ie better looking ship!). But not the second because, for me as a SFR reader, it would not capture my interest. I’ve read all of your published work and enjoyed myself thoroughly! Thank you for sharing your creativity and making it available for us to enjoy ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Thank you to everybody who took the time to leave me their opinion. I appreciate every comment.

  10. I think I’d have a stronger…tougher (but good looking) girl on the cover with the ship in the background. Most people assume if there is a good looking girl on the cover that there will be romance, but if you feature her alone, then it’s about her and the romance can be secondary.

  11. My personal opinion doesn’t count since I don’t like a busy cover (but that isn’t smart from a sales standpoint since my opinion is very much in the minority). I like the space cover without the couple on it, but I agree that speaks Sci-Fi only, no romance.

    The idea of putting conflict on the cover is a good one. That has my second vote.

    I’m referring to this comment above: “Hmm โ€“ I think you need to show Jess on it, but have the ship under fire or something like that โ€“ maybe jess one side, hudson on the other and the conflict between? Thatโ€™s approx the story anywayโ€ฆ”

  12. I can see the relative points of all the covers but like the above, I’m not really for busy covers. I do find the one of Jess rather confronting, but maybe that’s the idea, but I don’t think it would lead me to reading the story. The one with the couple on it definitely looks sci-fi romance. Hmmm difficult…

Leave a Reply

