Look! Up in the sky! Is it a bird? Is it a plane?

Picture of a rainbow in high level cirrus

None of the above. And it isn’t a UFO, either.

I took this photo an hour or two after sunrise. The sun is quite a way to the left of this image. What’s happened is that sunlight has been reflected and refracted within the ice crystals of the high level cirrus cloud, producing a blindingly white object with a halo of colour.

No wonder primitive people were superstitious.

Feel free to copy – provided you recognise my copyright and attribute the photo to me.

 

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 25 August 2012, in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wonderful skies, one of the joys of being away from the cities

  2. Simply Beautiful, Greta:)

  3. Beautiful shot and an interesting effect. Thanks for sharing, Greta!

Leave a Reply

