Leap for your life

Picture of a fish jumping at dawnI was down on the spit at the creek one morning earlier in the year, waiting for dawn as the tide came in.  I noticed  fish jumping, no doubt escaping the jaws of a predator and took my chance to see if I could get a shot, albeit at some distance. The result is at left, a little fishy jumping for its very life into an atmosphere which would kill it if it stayed too long.

A bit like us going the other way, I suppose, jumping from a burning boat into a freezing sea.  What a choice. Hurl yourself into the unknown and hope for the best or stay and face a more certain death.

A while later, while walking on the beach in broad daylight, I noticed a school of tiddlers trying to escape an unseen marauder and I tried my luck again.

This time, the subjects were closer and I was able to get some better shots. How? I was lucky, of course. I couldn’t hope to press the button when I first saw a fish rise into the air because by the time the shutter clicked they’d be gone, but quite a few were jumping in the same vicinity. Using sports mode, I took a succession of shots in the same area. I ended up with a lot of pictures of the sea. But some captured that split second while the fish was out of water. It felt very special.

Picture of jumping fish

picture of jumping fish

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 4 September 2012, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Very nice shots.

    Sometimes an Indie has to take a leap of faith and publish their work, after editing and fine tuning their piece to death.

Leave a Reply

