Always check your battery BEFORE you go out

picture of Brahmani kite in coniferA walk down the beach is about my favourite form of exercise, one I’m privileged to be able to indulge regularly. These days, I always have my camera by my side, ready for a photo opportunity. But this day was… well, I have to say it, ordinary. Grey and dull, with small waves chopping up the surface. The wildlife seemed to have stayed in bed, even the seagulls and terns which regularly patrol the shallows. The thing is, though, you never can tell what may arise. Many’s the day when I thought ho hum – and then something magical occurred.

Like this.

On the way back, I spotted one of my regular photographic subjects, a Brahmani kite, perched in a conifer. There he is at left. It was a different environment from their usual haunts and these majestic birds are always worth a photo, so I approached, camera ready. I took two shots, then Pete called out “look behind you” at the same time that I heard whistles from the trees beside me. The kites had a nest and the second parent bird was bringing in a fish to the nestling, a few handspans above my head. Oh, wow. I spun around, firing shots. One, two, three… bloody hell. The camera refused to work! The second bird took off, joining its mate as they circled down to the (invisible) nest. Bugger bugger bugger. The camera’s battery was flat. (Insert a string of profanities of your choice)

Picture of kite with fishOh well. It was a joy to behold and I got a few nice photos out of it. And I knew where the nest was.

Birds grow very quickly and this young Brahmani kite was no exception. On our next visit, two days later, we saw him launch from the nest, chased by an irate blue-faced honeyeater. The parent bird had landed on rocks exposed at low tide and waited for the youngster to make its way out there.Picture of young kite being chased by a honeyeater

As you can see, the young bird’s plumage is very different to the elegant mature bird – but it would have been camouflaged in the nest.

And the moral of this story is… patience is a virtue. And make sure your battery’s charged before you go out.

Picture of kite landing on rocks

Picture of adult kite with youngster on rocks

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 8 October 2012, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. And spell check before you publish! (laft?)

  2. Sage advice. I’m writing a novel which will take place in the Cleveland Museum Of Art, during its renovation. I planned to go today to take some pictures and jot down some notes. So I made sure to charge my batteries last night. To be extra safe, I even packed the charger.

    Unfortunately the museum is closed Mondays. Luckily, I also remembered another bit of advice: call (or check online) before you drive out.

  3. I feel your pain. In fact I wrote of just the same experience that befell me on a vacation to Key West this past June. If you want to take a look, it’s the post “What could go wrong.

  4. Before I went on holiday I bought a 2nd battery, so could always have a fully charged one available. Trouble is, you have to remember to have it with you.

Leave a Reply

