Finally. Star Wars is back

Picture of Star Wars movie PosterWell, well. Disney has acquired the Star Wars franchise. Funny, I was in a bookshop yesterday and remarked how incredible it was that a movie made in 1977 was still, 35 years later, making money. There were all sorts of spin-off items; books of ships, aliens, lego, figurines, model kits, games – let alone the endless stream of expanded universe novels.

I’ve always been a Star Wars fan so my first reaction to the prospect of new Star Wars movies is YAY… provided. I wasn’t a huge fan of the three prequel movies, although the SFX were fun and I thought the later Clone Wars cartoon movie was terrible. I’m desperately hoping for something better.

Please, Mister Disney, don’t rehash the old stuff. Pick up the expanded universe material and run with it, but carefully. There are some good novels among the pile of books churned out over the years. I haven’t read a great many of the novelsbecause many of them are, in my opinion, ordinary, but I have a few favourites. The first, needless to say, is absolutely anything with Grand Admiral Thrawn in it. Bring it on – the Heir to the Empire trilogy (see my thoughts on those) and then Zahn’s follow-up books – Spectre of the Past, Vision of the Future and Survivor’s Quest. Also the prequel, Outbound Flight.  Tatooine Ghost was well-written and I enjoyed Splinter of the Mind’s Eye, set in the interval between A New Hope and the Empire Strikes Back. Then there’s the X-Wing squadron books, which are numerous and very popular.

So… what do you think of this? Thumbs up, thumbs down? And which books would you like to see as movies?

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 31 October 2012, in Science fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This IS Disney we’re talking about. The company that has managed to mangle all of my favorite books through the years. Moonspinners, by Mary Stewart??? No doubt they’re more interested in the franchise material than any more productions. So we’ll see even more Princess Leia dolls and children’s light sabers. Maybe get the original movie remastered and spiffied up. Thirty five years? Well bummer, I guess so if not more. Sure as heck ages me. And amazingly I’ve never read any of the books.

  2. I wonder if Fozzy Bear will play Chewbacca. 🙂

  3. Tom told me about that last night and we can’t wait. Maybe Fozzy Bear will get his own part.

Leave a Reply

