Greta’s next big thing…

Picture of handsome young man Hah. This could be about anything, couldn’t it???

But it’s about my current work-in-progress. I’ve been tagged in The Next Big Thing by fellow writer Heikki Hietala, author of  Tulagi Hotel and a host of brilliant short stories. I’m instructed to tell you all about my next book by answering these questions and then to tag some other authors about their Next Big Thing. So here I go!

What is the working title of your next book?
Morgan’s Choice 2 – Morgan Returns

Where did the idea come from for the book?
In Morgan’s Choice, Supertech Morgan Selwood finds herself lost in space with a useless accountant. The pair are fortunate to escape death when ‘rescued’ (captured) by an alien battleship, which defeats a small force of opposing ships. Her captors are humanoid and both Morgan and Manesai Admiral Ashkar Ravindra realise Humans and Manesai must be related. After a series of incidents and adventures, Morgan gets caught up in a civil war and an alien attack. It’s a stand-alone book, but a few people have asked for more from Admiral Ravindra and Morgan. And there are many more questions left to be answered. Where did Admiral Ravindra’s people come from? How? When? So Morgan’s going home with Ravindra in tow, to find some answers.

What genre does your book fall under?
Space opera with the usual dollop of romance. It’s not ‘hard’ science fiction, although I’ve tried to bear in mind the rules of physics and there is no magic (as in waving of wands etc) in the plot.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’ve done a casting couch for characters. Indian actor John Abraham got the gig for Ravindra and Rachel McAdam would play Morgan.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Morgan’s return to where she came from isn’t welcomed by everyone, but the external threat will leave her personal problems in the shade. (Or something – give me a break – it isn’t finished yet)

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Self-published. I’ve given up on agencies.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
You’re not listening, are you? I hope to have it done by Christmas.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Compare? I never compare. All I’ll say is if you enjoy fast-paced space opera with a dollop of romance you might find this fun. Think Elizabeth Moon or Anne McCaffrey with a slurp more sex, or Star Wars with a slurp more science along with the sex.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?
I guess mainly the response to Morgan’s Choice. I had hoped originally to spin out Morgan’s adventures into two books at least, but that didn’t happen. Really, people’s interest in what happens next motivated me to tell this story.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
For those who wanted more about Ravindra and Morgan I’m sure it will satisfy. As usual, they’ll end up in lots of hot water. Sometimes cold water. Their relationship will be tested and Morgan will be tested – by another Supertech. A few characters will be back, you’ll learn a little more about Admiral Makasa – and there’ll be a new peril which might lead into a third book. It should be fun.

So that’s it for me. Why don’t you pop on over and see what Mona Karel and Ian Smethurst are working on for their Next Big Thing?

Oh, by the way. Him up there on the left? He’s Ash in my paranormal romance, Black Tiger. You might want to check him out.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 10 November 2012, in Morgan's Choice, Science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

