Yes, Virginia, there is such a thing as over-editing

I’m in the middle of editing a new book and my experience with editing The Iron Admiral came to mind. I learned some valuable lessons then and I think it’s worth repeating them. If you have any views, I’d love to know your experience.

Greta van der Rol

Picture of CosmosThe very first book I ever wrote was called (among other things) The Iron Admiral. I wanted to write a space opera with sex; not erotica, science fiction but with heart. So I did. To start with it wasn’t so very good. No writer’s first efforts are, I don’t think. In my case, the writing was flowery with many words other than ‘said’, much telling and not showing… the usual culprits.

But I went and learnt the craft and I polished and polished and polished. Eventually, I was happy with my work and propositioned literary agents and a few publishers without success. I got desperate and even self-published for Kindle. But then, an agent took an interest. I pulled the book off Amazon and listened to her advice. Rewrite, she said. She pointed out some plot weaknesses and suggested I bring the leading man in earlier. This was all…

View original post 534 more words

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 19 January 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Every book I edit makes me a better writer. I did some editing for other authors in college. It was a valuable experience. As a science fiction lover and an SFR writer (space operas) I think it is so hard to combine sci fi with sex. Readers of science fiction don’t like much sex in their stories and readers of romance don’t really get science fiction. Quite the conundrum.

Leave a Reply

