A snippet from The Iron Admiral

picture of Iron Admiral coverFor this week’s SFRB Presents, I thought I’d give you a look at the second of my two Iron Admiral books. In this brief interaction between Grand Admiral Saahren and the lady he loves, Allysha Marten, Saahren has turned up at the Fleet Ball, which Allysha has attended (in all innocence) with a young officer in her team. Saahren has asked her to dance.

“He’s one of my team, that’s all. I was doing him a favor.”

Double lines appeared between his eyebrows. “Yes, of course. He has a fiancée, has he not? And after the ball? What then? Back to your lonely apartment, by yourself?”

She bristled. “Of course.” What was he thinking?

“I have a better idea. You could come home with me.” His eyes gleamed with hunger, his voice soft as velvet. “I’ll be leaving soon.”

She shook her head. “No. No, I can’t do that. I came with Todd.” She blocked off the other little voice that whispered you’d like to, though; you’d certainly like to.

“So? Say goodnight to your people. Come with me.”

She locked eyes with him, those obsidian eyes that seemed to stare into her soul. “No.” The rest went unsaid; you can’t make me, I’m not yours to command.

He bent over her, so close she felt his breath on her cheek. “Then when you get home, call me. It’s time we… talked, my love.”

She didn’t miss the pause. Talking, eh? “Don’t call me that.”

“You can’t change the way I feel about you, Allysha. It’s pointless trying to avoid me, trying to hide.”

______________________________________________________________

This snippet is from The Iron Admiral: Deception, the second of the two books. The first is The Iron Admiral: Conspiracy. Or you can buy both books in the omnibus entitled The Iron Admiral.

Thanks for dropping by. Be sure to check out all the other great reads in this week’s snippets.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 8 March 2013, in Iron Admiral, Science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I think she’s fighting a losing battle here – great snippet!

  2. juliabarrett

    Nice! I’m loving this book.

  3. ‘Fleet Ball’. Does that mean they dance really fast? (Sorry, I’m overtired and in a weird mood.) Nice snippet. I have book one and it’s on my to-read list!

  4. Makes me wonder what’s happened to push them apart.

  1. Pingback: SFR Brigade Presents for March 8th | Tracing the Stars

Leave a Reply

