Paranormal romance – and a cat!

One of the great things about being a writer is you get to meet so many other great writers. One of those is Poppet, best known for her dark and psychological books. She has a deep interest in, and knowledge of, religion and mythology, both of which are recurrent themes in her work.

Her new ‘Valhalla’ series is paranormal romance and it’s my pleasure to announce the second book –  Master of Umbra.

Deliah is in grave dangPicture of Master of Umbra coverer, running for her life from a man who needs her dead, when serendipity plants her in the path of the Master of Umbra.

Inducted into the mysterious Eagle clan of the Scottish highlands, Deliah is torn between her fate and destiny when kin clash for her affections. Falling for the scandalous villain who heads the Berserkers of the Hebrides, her fragile hope is snuffed out early by revelation and impending war.

The only mantra she can cling to is the one uttered in heartfelt promise; that love comes back.

Because that’s what love does.

*******************************

If you’d like to read a comprehensive review, head on over here.

And if you’d like to buy a copy, Amazon US: http://amzn.com/B00D4E8UWE  Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00D4E8UWE

If you leave me a comment, you’ll be in the draw to win a copy of the book. Tell me if you’d prefer a kindle file, or a pdf.

Entries close at midnight (my time) 15th June. I’ll draw a winner on 16th June.

Excerpt:

“What do you want?” he snaps, in that impatient drawl.

“Er… I can’t get confrontational in the dark,” I mumble, losing courage.

“I bet you’re plenty confrontational in the dark.” Gripping my arm in the ‘master is not pleased’ grind, he marches me deeper into the darkness, muttering, “Dressed like that only reinforces the image.”

“What’s wrong with the way I’m dressed?” I argue, wishing he’d slow down already.

He laughs, and it’s cold, “Sweetie, it looks like you’re either going to put me over your knee, or beg me to put you over mine.”

“Oh go get knotted–”

“Did you leave any beer in the vat when you finished sucking it dry? Ulfhednar head is white and frothy, just the way you like it.”

“I did not–”

“You’re more baked than clay and you’re going to be just as dehydrated come sunup. What the hell were you thinking?” he chastises, hauling me into a grotto ready to raise the dead. Candles and steam haunt the room like old lovers getting nostalgic.

“What the hell was I thinking?” Now you’ve done it mister twat. “I was thinking you require trepanning so you can deflate your fucking ego.”

He turns to scowl down at me, his chest embroidered with white scars which map bridges over his extreme musculature. I’m trying very hard not to gawk, but bleedin’ heck, he looks like an action man who grew up on a uranium farm, except of course for the tortured gaze he pegs me with when he folds his arms and bursts veins out in wild rivulets. They ridge in the flickering candlelight, shadowing his bulk with a net of strength.

What was he doing here exactly, in just his baggies?

Fuck! Was he expecting his date to show up and I walked in where I’m not welcome?

Thanks to those who commented. The prize has been won and the winner notified.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 8 June 2013, in On writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I absolutely love this excerpt from Poppet’s new book. I’ve read this story and instantly fell in love with the characters, they are fabulous. This has become my favorite of all Poppet books.

  2. Margaret Taylor

    Oh this sounds completely different! I love it. I’d love it in Kindle too…:D

  3. An intriguing excerpt. I find it hard to write in first person, let alone present tense!
    Congratulations on the new release. Hope you have mega sales.

  4. I loved the first book, and cannot wait to read the second.

    Kindle please (Amazon.ca)

    Thanks 🙂

