Blog tour – Pippa Jay’s YA SF novel “Gethyon”

A long tiPicture of iridescent ringme ago in a galaxy far, far away…no. That’s not right. A long time ago in the chaotic universe that exists inside my head, I imagined a scene. The scene was inspired by this ring. Pretty, isn’t it? It’s moonstone, a sodium potassium aluminium silicate. Interesting from a chemical point of view (having spent most of my life working as an analytic chemist, that kind of thing always gives me a thrill) but maybe a bit of a mouthful if you had to say it. Moonstone is a far more poetic description, and maybe more fitting to a scifi or mystical setting. I love the opalescent sheen and play of colours in what’s essentially a semi-translucent bit of white rock. The phenomenon is called adularescence, where the light is scattered between the thin layers of the mineral.

But back to my scene. I’d been wondering how to equip my two time-travelling central characters with a means to pay for the romantic meal they were enjoying. I was wearing the moonstone ring at the time, and it caught my eye. I imagined my heroine slipping the ring onto her hero’s finger, glinting in a halo of colours in the candlelight (yes, candles, even in the far future). The hero believing he’d been given a simple trinket.

“What is this?”

“An IDRIS.”

“It is beautiful.” He turned it in the light, watching the play of colour. “Thank you.”

“Oh, it’s not really an adornment. Most humans have that embedded in their arm here.” She touched the back of her wrist, and he flinched at the thought. “It’s an IDentity Ring In Situ. It’ll provide you with identification and credit to buy things. You’ll need it.”

“For what?”

“It’s your turn to pay for dinner.”

That story has never been finished, but the idea for the IDRIS stayed with me. By the time I wrote Gethyon, I used it as the standard form of ID, a chunk of crystal imbedded in all humans not long after birth that would record every essential detail of their lives and background.

Why a ring of crystal and not a chip? A wrist band? A digital passport even? Well, those have been done. I wanted something different, and something that would be with the individual at all times. I’d read about data storage on nanocrystals, and while they may not look like my IDRIS in their current form, I felt I could use the idea (the non-volatile storage of multiple terabytes of data on a one inch chip) realistically enough – with an artistic twist. A simple scan of an IDRIS, which can be done at a distance in the event of a criminal act, it can’t be faked, tampered with or erased. Only the ruling authority can change the data on the crystal. Only drastic measures will remove it, a fact my young hero is forced to consider…

picture of cover of Gethyon

A YA Science Fiction Novel

Released by Champagne Books 3rd June 2013

His father died. His mother abandoned him. In the depths of space, darkness seeks him.

Abandoned by his mother after his father’s death, Gethyon Rees feels at odds with his world and longs to travel the stars. But discovering he has the power to do so leaves him scarred for life. Worse, it alerts the Siah-dhu—a dark entity that seeks his kind for their special abilities—to his existence, and sets a bounty hunter on his trail.

When those same alien powers lead Gethyon to commit a terrible act, they also aid his escape. Marooned on the sea-world of Ulto Marinos, Gethyon and his twin sister must work off their debt to the Seagrafter captain who rescued them while Gethyon puzzles over their transportation. How has he done this? And what more is he capable of?

Before he can learn any answers, the Wardens arrive to arrest him for his crime. Can his powers save him now? And where will he end up next?

BUY LINKS:

Trailer

Picture of Pippa JayBIO:

A stay-at-home mum of three who spent twelve years working as an Analytical Chemist in a Metals and Minerals laboratory, Pippa Jay bases her stories on a lifetime addiction to science-fiction books and films. Somewhere along the line a touch of romance crept into her work and refused to leave. Between torturing her characters, she spends the odd free moments trying to learn guitar, indulging in freestyle street dance and drinking high-caffeine coffee. Although happily settled in historical Colchester in the UK with her husband of 20 years, she continues to roam the rest of the Universe in her head. Her works have won a SFR Galaxy Award, and finaled in the Readers Favorite Award Contest and the Gulf Coast RWA Chapter Silken Sands Self-Published Star Award.

LINKS:

green

So, to celebrate the release of Gethyon, I’m offering a piece of crystal of my own, available internationally. Just use the rafflecopter to enter, and tell me in the comments which is your favourite gemstone and why. And don’t worry, I won’t require you to know its chemical formula to enter. 😉

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 18 June 2013, in Science fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for hosting me, Greta!

Leave a Reply

