Mid-summer blog hop

sfrb-bloghop-buttonWelcome to the ‘Out of this World’ blog hop

Hi, and welcome to my worlds. I don’t know about you, but I’ve grown very tired of all the humanoid aliens in popular science fiction – especially science fiction romance. I’m happy to accept far-flung human colonies might have developed their own characteristics, in much the same way that the finches on the different Galapagos Islands evolved into separate species. But, sorry, I cannot swallow the notion that life has evolved somewhere else and created a ‘human’ species so close to ours it is able to reproduce (aka have sex). Needless to say, when I ‘created’ my own alien species, that caveat was to the forefront.

IAC Cover smallIn my Iron Admiral series I have aliens called the Ptorix and they are a long way from humanoid. No, there is no chance of a Human/Ptorix hybrid. They are essentially conical in shape, something they exaggerate with their clothing. They have no neck and the head ends in a dome. The body is covered in short blue fur. Their four arms end in a number of tentacles which can be deployed in a variety of ways. Think of a sea anemone and you’ve about got it right. They have four short legs but these are usually hidden beneath their robes. Three eyes which change color according to mood are located almost equidistant around the top of the head, enabling a Ptorix to see almost the whole way around its body without moving. They have two ‘mouths’, one – resembling a proboscis – for eating, the other for breathing and speaking. So from a human viewpoint, they’re pretty weird.

But they did evolve on planets similar to Earth, so Humans and Ptorix can share the same planets and breathe the same air, although they don’t eat food in the way we do. Ptorix had always been scavengers, sucking up nutrients from putrefying flesh. The Ptorix find it strange that humans eat solid flesh, which they find disgusting and inefficient.

Like us, they can manipulate materials and are technologically advanced. They see more light spectra than we do, and hear a higher-pitched sound range. Needless to say, the Ptorix have their own culture and social mores. If you want to find out more about them, try The Iron Admiral: Conspiracy.

Read an excerpt here Reviews here Buy the book Amazon Barnes & Noble Kobo Apple

If you’d like to win a copy of BOTH The Iron Admiral: Conspiracy and its sequel, The Iron Admiral: Deception leave a comment on this blog giving the name of Allysha’s cheating husband.

Put in your entry for the main Blog Tour prize, via Rafflecopter

1st Prize – $150 Amazon or B&N gift card (winner’s choice) and an ebook bundle (currently Ghost in the Machine, Bayne, Recast Book1:Wither, Recast Book 2:Clash, Alien Adoration, Switched, Reckless Rescue, Wreck of the Nebula Dream, Keir, Terms & Conditions Apply, The Key, Marya, Sasha’s Calling, Trouble at the Hotel Baba Ghanoush, Winter in Paradise, Once Upon a Time in Space, the Telomere trilogy, Winter Fusion, Blue Nebula, Demential, Wytchfire, Maven, Fires of Justice, Interface, Girl under Glass, and Breakout, Stark Pleasure, Starburst and The Plan.
Bonus books – Ghost Planet, The Iron Admiral: Conspiracy and Deception, and Games of Command.)

2nd Prize – $50 Amazon or B&N gift card (winner’s choice)

3rd Prizes – four $25 Amazon or B&N gift cards (given to separate winners and their choice)

And be sure to check out all the other blogs for more chances to win win win

Thanks to everyone who participated. The winner of the two books offered on my blog has been informed.

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 21 June 2013, in Iron Admiral, Science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. I love how fleshed-out your alien species is, Greta! Sounds like an interesting mix of life on your planet!

  2. Sean 🙂
    Thanks so much for the opportunity!
    farmaki(at)live(dot)com

  3. Sean. A prince. I want to know what happens next. Thanks for the giveaway.

  4. I’m definitely intrigued with this series.
    Thanks for the great giveaway!
    tl.etheridge31(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. Forgive my irreverent streak, but your description of the Ptorix summoned an image of the coneheads from the old Saturday Night Life shows. Funny, though, I never got that image from reading the books.

  6. Ewww, I don’t think much of the Ptorix eating habits. As to your point about ‘human’ aliens – well, recently I’ve tried to give logical reasons for physical compatibility, and the use of tech for the odd hybrid. I agree the chances of an alien race being genetically compatible (unless we share a common ancestor) is probably pretty remote.

  7. Sean is the cheater. Love the world you created.
    jonesjnd(at)yahoo(dot)com

  8. I am intrigued with your world and would love to read your books, but I can’t answer your question because I haven’t read them yet. Thanks for the giveaway. evamillien at gmail dot com.

  9. thanQ for sharing UR Sci fi world with me ..With love ,imagination ,passion& all things R possible.:) U bring fun& entertainment to a all time natural high.
    redz041@yahoo.com

  10. Sean.

    Thanks for the amazing excerpts & giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com (subscribed)
    WordPress: BookAttict

  11. I’m going to have to put your book on the TBR list – the way you’ve developed your aliens is fascinating. Thanks for the explanation!

  12. Sean. (: The story sounds interesting. And ah, alien replication. Sounds frightening. lol. but intriguing. 😉

  13. Ooh, love your take on another species! Fantastic! Got it on my tbr list.

  14. Kathleen McGowan

    Sean is the cheater. I haven’t read the books, just the excerpt. 🙂 I also have a couple of your short stories in my TBR pile.

  15. I like the idea of three eyes that change color. I could use a third eye, preferably one in the back of my head so I can keep an eye on my boys while I’m writing.

  16. Sean is the guy – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

  17. So glad to hear there is no chance of a Human/Ptorix hybrid! The eating thing is gross but I’m with Diane on the eyes…would come in very handy for those of us with little munchkins!

  18. Sean

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  19. Finally, I found it on a different site. Cheating husband soon to be divorced, Goodbye Sean.
    Book sounds fab.
    Liza2write@yahoo.com

  20. Dearest passengers, welcome to the New Year, and to a new round of fun, adventurous science fiction romance stories!

  21. shadowluvs2read

    Hi! Awesome post! Your book sounds great!! The ex is Sean. Loving this hop! So many awesome authors! 🙂 Thank you! Have a great day!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  1. Pingback: SFR Brigade Out Of This World Blog Hop Giveaway | Veronica Scott

