It was just an ordinary day. Until the invasion…

We get birds where we live. Lots of them. Since we don’t have pets, the birds (and the occasional possum) provide us with entertainment. Especially when we leave food out for them. I recently discovered that the local Rainbow Lorikeets really LOVE a bit of honey on multi-grain bread. So they’d line up along our pool fence, waiting for their treat, then descend en masse. With numbers like this, no bird was going to able to get more than a beak full.

Bread and honey

This was all good. We get a few Scaly-Breasted Lorikeets, a few honeyeaters and Noisy Miner Birds, but none of the big parrots.

Until now.

Sulphur-crested Cockatoos tend to live in small flocks, maybe twenty to thirty birds. A group flying over our house must have noticed the commotion and popped in to have a look. This was the result.

IMG_0635

IMG_0607

IMG_0679

IMG_0700

IMG_0721

IMG_0723

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 23 June 2013, in Life and things, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Just stunning images Greta. I remember your posts from last year and just new you’d have some wonderful pictures. What a grand thing nature is.

  2. Oh you are so lucky! I’d spend all my time outside watching the birds!

  3. *snicker* Why am I not surprised? Great photos, would love to see a yard full of lorikeets some day, in person. Cockatoos are pretty and fun to watch, but they weigh so much more than the lorikeets.

  4. Hmm, can’t find it.

  5. Beautiful photos! Hard to be angry at them when they’re such lovely birds. But it’s getting easier, as they’ve started pulling the tops off all my plants here!

Leave a Reply

