Dealing with the mucky bits

A little more for writers on the ‘show don’t tell’ thing.

To Die a Dry Death

picture of a kitchen scene I recently wrote a post on my other blog concerning the bits authors leave out of time travel. With my tongue firmly in my cheek, I called it ‘the sexy side of time travel’. Imagine yourself going back from the 21st century to (say) Elizabethan London. What would your impressions be? A lot of it would be to do with stinks, smells, filth, disease, rotten teeth, body odour, rats, mice, lice, death etc. All these things would assault the eye (and nose) of a person coming front our times. But for the people living in that time, it was how they lived.

So how does one write about things like this, conveying what it was really like? The issue is that people wouldn’t have noticed the smells and the vermin. If you go out camping with friends and there is no chance to wash, you’ll no doubt end up…

View original post 261 more words

About Greta van der Rol

I'm an author of fast-paced, action-adventure novels, mainly space opera - although I've been known to write in other genres. I live not far from the coast in Queensland, Australia and enjoy photography and cooking when I'm not bent over the computer. I have a degree in history and a background in building information systems, both of which go a long way toward helping me in my writing endeavours.

Posted on 26 July 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

